top of page

About MTAC

  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube

Metrolina Trauma Advisory Committee (MTAC)

The Metrolina Trauma Advisory Committee (MTAC) promotes regional networking and information sharing.  MTAC is committed to enhancing the trauma care and quality throughout the regional trauma system across various EMS systems, healthcare systems, and trauma centers.  MTAC is open to any and all suggestions in an effort to provide excellent trauma care throughout the entire regional trauma system.  


The Metrolina Trauma Advisory Committee (MTAC) is one of eight North Carolina Regional Advisory Councils (RAC'S), dedicated to working with its regional emergency and trauma care providers, hospitals, and agencies in efforts of constructing and maintaining a coordinative, evidence based process for the delivery of consistent, quality trauma care. These objectives could not be achieved without the shared collaboration among the Metrolina RAC's regional providers; ensuring an emphasis on quality of care through appropriate utilization of trauma system resources and timely access to a Trauma Center when needed. Below is a list of the organizations within the Metrolina region.


Atrium Health Anson

Atrium Health Cabarrus

Atrium Health Carolinas Medical Center

Atrium Health Cleveland

Atrium Health Harrisburg Emergency Department**

Atrium Health Huntersville Emergency Department**

Atrium Health Kannapolis Emergency Department**

Atrium Health Kings Mountain

Atrium Health Lincoln

Atrium Health Mountain Island**

Atrium Health Mercy

Atrium Health Pineville

Atrium Health Providence Emergency Department **

Atrium Health SouthPark Emergency Department**

Atrium Health Stanly

Atrium Health Steele Creek Emergency Department**

Atrium Health Union

Atrium Health Union West

Atrium Health University City

Atrium Health Waxhaw Emergency Department**

Atrium Health's Carolinas Medical Center

Caromont Regional Medical Center

Caromont Regional Medical Center- Mount Holly

Catawba Valley Medical Center

Lake Norman Regional Medical Center

MUSC Health Chester Medical Center *

MUSC Health Lancaster (Springs Memorial) *

Novant Health Ballantyne Medical Center

Novant Health Huntersville Medical Center

Novant Health Matthews Medical Center

Novant Health Mint Hill Medical Center

Novant Health Presbyterian Medical Center

Piedmont Medical Center *

Piedmont Medical Center Gold Hill Road Emergency Department *, **

Scotland Memorial Hospital


Anson County EMS

Cabarrus County EMS

Catawba County EMS

Chester County EMS *

Cleveland County EMS

Fort Mill Rescue *

Gaston County EMS

Iredell County EMS

Lancaster County EMS*

Lincoln County EMS

Mecklenburg EMS Agency (MEDIC)

Piedmont EMS *

Riverhill/Lake Wylie EMS *

Scotland County EMS

Stanly County EMS

Union EMS

Critical Care Transport

MedCenter Air

Novant Health Critical Care

LifeLink Air (Cape Fear Valley Medical Center)

* denotes South Carolina hospital or EMS agency

** denotes free-standing emergency department



The Mission of the Metrolina Trauma Advisory Committee (MTAC) is to promote and coordinate a unified, superior regional trauma system, including education, research, performance improvement, evidence-based practices, and injury prevention, through collaboration with community, pre-hospital, and hospital trauma care providers.


The Vision of the Metrolina Trauma Advisory Committee (MTAC) is to become a model regional trauma system in North Carolina, offering exceptional standardized care given by highly educated and skilled trauma network providers, with the aid of complex matrices of performance improvement, reasearch, and best practice tools.

bottom of page